National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)

National Social Assistance Programme was launched on 15th August 1995 by Ministry of Rural Development. It was created for the applicant who are Below Poverty Line (BPL) family.

  • It is a centrally sponsored scheme of Government of India that provides financial assistance to the elderly, widows and persons with disabilities in the form of pensions.
  • It is a welfare programme being administered by the Ministry of Rural Development.
  • This programme is being implemented in rural as well as in urban areas.
  • It represents a significant step towards the fulfillment of the Directive Principles of State Policy enshrined in the Constitution of India which enjoy upon the state to undertake within its means a number of welfare measures.

National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP) consists of five schemes are:

  1. Indira Gandhi National Open Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS)
  2. Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS)
  3. Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS)
  4. National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS)
  5. Annapurna